Special Units

DPS Special Units Home Page

The Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) is comprised of 11 divisions that serve the citizens of Utah. Within those 11 divisions are four specialized units that include the Aero Bureau, Dive Team, Public Protection Unit and Special Emergency Response Team.


The Special Units provide the Department of Public Safety specialized tactical resources in support of daily operations and community needs.


Each special unit team is made up of the fine men and women of DPS and its Utah Highway Patrol division. Members represent various backgrounds and years of experience in law enforcement. DPS special units are among the best in the nation and assist agencies in Utah and in neighboring states.

Special Units Latest News

More News